How to calculate lifetime customer value (CLV)?
There are two main ways to calculate your lifetime value based on the industry you’re in. If you have a monthly service then take your average net profit margin per customer and multiply it by the average number of months the client does business with you. If you have a one-time service or a service that occurs on a less frequent basis, take your average profit per job and multiply that by how many times that customer is likely to call you over a five year period; You can also add how likely it is that the client will send your referrals.
How do you calculate Return On Investment (ROI)?
The most simple way to calculate your ROI is to take your gross profit from the marketing strategy and subtract that from the cost of the marketing campaign. Now divide that from the total cost or marketing and since ROI is calculated in percentage, you’d multiply that number by 100.
At Kyle Marshall SEO, we have a business owner mentality and keep you return on investment constantly in mind. After all, what difference would it make if we bring your website to the first page on Google, but it didn’t increase your revenue. Our goal is to become your digital partners, to help your business grow and give it the advantage needed to succeed in this competitive marketplace.
How to calculate Return on Advertising Spend (ROAS)?
ROAS determines the effectiveness of your online advertising campaigns and is measured by dividing the total revenue from the ad by the cost of the ad. So say you spent $1,000 dollars on an and generated $10,000 in revenue, your ROAS would be 10. Meaning that ad is generating ten dollars for every dollar spent.
What is a conversion and how to measure website conversion rate?
The goal of a website can change with the industry and business you are in. Are you looking for people to fill out a form, submit their email, or call a specific number? A conversion is an action that you want the visitor to take rather than just browsing and leaving. Conversion rate is determined by dividing the number of conversions by the number of total visits and can be tracked both by specific locations or overall visits. This is especially helpful when you are looking to expand, for example before spending the time and resources in opening another location it’s important to know where more of your target market is.
How to use Google Analytics to track your Google rankings for free?
There are many SEO tools that you can purchase to keep track of your website’s organic rankings as well as your competitors. However, Google Analytics will help you keep track of all your important websites metrics and it’s hard to beat the price of free.
What is Keyword not provided?
On October 18th, 2011 Google announced that all organic search keywords would be encrypted and many search engines including firefox, safari and chrome have followed suit. So when you log into your google analytics account keyword “not provided” will often be in first place. Many agencies cried foul but here at Kyle Marshall SEO this change fits right into our philosophy. Google’s algorithms change constantly and rather than focusing on what Google changed we look towards where they are headed.
How to measure and track progress?
How do you accurately measure if and how your website is helping generate business? What percentage of people visiting your site turn into a lead or a sale? Which marketing strategy will give you the best ROI ? How much money are you losing to your competition? Our software tools and marketing strategies help business owners get answers to these important questions leading to informed decisions that give measurable results.
What is bounce rate and why is it important to your website?
A “bounce” occurs when a visitor comes to your website, sees a single page and leaves. This metric will be important going forwards in google natural rankings. Every search engine is trying to give the best possible result for the search query and if your website has a high bounce rate, the search engine will think that your website isn’t very good or relevant to that keyword and you could drop in your natural rankings. However, what if you’re a local plumber and someone visits your website, calls your number, and asks you to come fix something and leaves? Google analytics would record that as a bounce even though as a business owner you’d take that result all day long. Having your website built properly will help reduce your bounce rate while giving you the result you want and keep you ahead of the competition.
Using Dynamic Number Insertion (DNI) to measure ad effectiveness
Let’s say that your business phone number is listed in multiple advertisements on facebook, Google Adwords and a print ad. How would you know which ad is the most effective and giving you the highest ROI? DNI creates unique phone numbers for all your different ads enabling you to accurately measure the effectiveness of both the ads themselves and the medium they are listed in.
Search Engine Optimization
What is Search Engine Optimization (SEO)?
Ask yourself, when was the last time you went on the second page of a search result? Your customers are no different and most people click on one of the top three results or change their search query altogether. So how does a search engine determine who earns the top spot and how often do these rankings change?
The goal of SEO is to have your website beat the competition and rank in the top result for industry relevant keywords. To do that we have to make your website easy to read and index for search engines; and though this is a multi-step process we can break it down into two broad categories. First, on-page SEO helps with the architecture, content and code of your website. Off-page SEO helps with your social media presence, incoming and out-going links, and helps your website establish trust with search engines.
Our SEO Goals and Process
We have three main goals in regards to our SEO campaigns. Firstly to generate a positive ROI, after all, what would be the point of having the top rank in any search engine if you weren’t increasing revenue. Secondly, to help your business become the authority in your market. This will leapfrog your website over the competition, increasing your leads and sales, and also help your website maintain that top rank in the future. Lastly, we want to become your digital partners, for less than it would cost to have your own SEO team, and help your business achieve future goals.
The first step in all of our marketing strategies is accurate tracking and measuring. It’s critical that we know where your business stands currently, in order to achieve future goals. A business specialist from our team will then create the scope of work, showing you our step by step process, and send weekly reports showing the progress made. Of course, you can always call our team with any questions you have.
How much does an SEO campaign cost?
All our strategies are custom made for your business and the price is based on many factors. We start with a free website audit of both your site and your competitors, other SEO firms generally charge for this service, which helps us determine not only the cost but also the time needed for the campaign. Upon completion there are two ways to proceed; One is that we help as consultants while your team implements our SEO strategy. Second we implement the strategy for you, which ends up costing you less then if you have your own team, and starts around 1,000 dollars per month.
How to we measure success?
Ultimately our success is based on whether we are helping your business achieve the goals you’ve set forth, so it’s very important that we accurately measure where you currently stand. Our campaigns start with a free audit of both your competitors and your business, which our specialists use to lay out a detailed plan of action and set benchmarks along the way. We pride ourselves on being a transparent company and to that end, we send weekly reports showing the work done and progress made.
Terms and Definitions
What is a keyword and how to choose the right one for your business?
A keyword is the term someone types in a search engine as a query and can be a singular word, a phrase or even a question. The website that best matches that particular word or topic will be moved towards the top spot. Our audit of both your website and the website of your competitors gives detailed and accurate terms that people are using to find your business. We can tell you which keywords are most profitable, how competitive the keyword is, compare your rank to that of your competitors and other important metrics.
What is a Backlink and how to build trust with search engines?
There are three main types of links you can have on your website. A backlink(inbound), is a link coming from an outside source, outbound is when your website links to something else on the web and inner links are links going to pages within your own site. A search engine works very much like a referral service and the quality and quantity of those referrals(links) plays a very big part in your overall ranking.
Our advice to clients is to become the authority in their market, we show you the fastest way to achieve this goal, by providing visitors as much value as possible. This in time will lead to people linking to you naturally which has great benefits. First, this will help your website gain the trust of the search engines leading to an increase in rankings. Second, these referrals are free(who doesn’t like free) and lastly, a steady flow of referrals will help your website maintain its rank in the future. A note of caution! some services promise fast rankings by selling you large quantities of cheap incoming links. We strongly advise against these types of tactics as this breaks the search engines terms of service and will cause your website to lose rankings or be de-indexed altogether.
What is an XML Sitemap?
An XML sitemap informs search engines about the layout of your website, making it both easier to read and rank. This includes all the pages, how they are structured and related to each other, and can include information about the content of those pages. Search engines don’t only rank overall websites, but also the individual pages. Ultimately this tool can help build trust with search engines and is especially useful if you have a website with a lot of pages or pages that aren’t connected to one another.
NAP Definition and why is it important for SEO?
NAP stands for Name, Address, Phone Number and is especially important for businesses trying to rank highly in local results. Google and other search engines use this information to show results based on location (aka Geo-Targeting). The advantage of NAP is that it helps create trust with search engines and that helps your overall ranking. There are two actions to take, first make sure that your NAP is correct both on all of your sites and any other sites you’re registered on. Second, register on as many authority sites as possible such as, industry related sites, BBB, Yellow Pages, Chamber of Commerce, etc.
What are Top Level Domains (TLD) and why are they important?
TLD refers to the letters after the period in a website address. Examples include .com, .gov, .edu, etc. Originally .com was used to indicate a website with commercial intent whereas .org was used for non-profit organizations. In an effort to organize the web and all the sites in it, other TLDs have been created such as .tickets, .flight, .info and more are being proposed. This could have a big impact on how websites will be named in the future, and is a metric we are keeping our eye on.
Why are Google algorithm changes important to your website?
Google remains the most used search engine in the world and is the leader in search engine trends and behavior. They are trying to give the end user the best experience possible and this is reflected in their algorithm updates. These updates occur frequently however, there have been some major changes in the past few years we want to look into:
Google Panda was a major algorithm update performed around February 23rd, 2011. This update affected websites with poor quality content that were ranking in the top spots of search results. This included websites that broke copyright infringement laws and general web spam sites.
Google Penguin launched around April 24th, 2012 and was aimed at websites trying to game the ranking system by buying or obtaining incoming links from link farm sites or networks.
Google Hummingbird was a change performed around September 2013, with the goal of being ‘precise and fast” the algorithm started looking at whole phrases, such as a question, rather than just individual words.
Google Mobile-Friendly Update (AKA Mobilegeddon) was released on April 21st, 2015. Google confirmed that more searches were being conducted using mobile devices rather than a desktop computer. Web sites that were mobile-friendly would be given a boost in their rankings.